You are here: Home » City Government » City Council » Traffic Commission

Traffic Commission

The Traffic Commission is governed by Xenia Codified Ordinance Part Four-Traffic Code, Title Two: Administration, Enforcement, and Penalties, Chapter 410: Traffic Commission. The duties of the Traffic Commission shall be to coordinate traffic activities, to carry on educational activities in traffic matters, to receive from the city staff recommendations based upon sound engineering judgment and in accordance with the Ohio Manual of Uniform Traffic Control Devices for Streets and Highways, to receive complaints having to do with traffic matters, to make monthly reports to the City Council and to recommend to the City Council and other city officials ways and means for improving traffic conditions and the administration and enforcement of traffic regulations. The Traffic Commission is a recommending body to City Council and consists of five volunteers who are residents of the City and are appointed by the City Council to staggered terms of four years each. One Council member serves as chair as appointed by the Council President at their second regular session in January of each year. Staff representatives shall include a representative from the office of the City Engineer ( and a staff representative from the Police Division (

Frequency of Meetings:  Regular sessions are held once per month on the first Monday of the month at 7 p.m. The public is invited to attend. Those who would like to relay a question, comment or concern to the Traffic Commission may do so at the meeting during Audience Break or by contacting the Chair of the Commission or the staff representatives through the links on this page. Citizens interested in placing an item on the agenda for discussion should submit their requests to the City Clerk, 101 N. Detroit Street, Xenia, OH 45385. Requests must be received no less than 10 days prior to the meeting date.

Meeting Location:  Regular Sessions are held in the City Council Chambers, Second Floor, City Hall, 101 N. Detroit Street, Xenia, unless otherwise noted on the published agenda.

Your current Xenia Traffic Commissioners are as follows:
  • Sarah Mays, Vice Chair
  • (Vacant)
  • Dennis Lewis
  • William Merriman
  • Jeff Vaught

Vacancy Information:  Thank you for your interest. There is currently one vacancy on the Commission. If you are interested in serving and are a Xenia resident, please call City Clerk Michelle Johnson at 376-7235 or e-mail your letter of interest to