You are here: Home » City Government » City Council

City Council

The Xenia City Council exercises the powers and authority of a municipal corporation as determined by the constitution of the State of Ohio and the Charter and ordinances of the City of Xenia. The City Council of Xenia, Ohio, is composed of seven elected council members, including one mayor. Council members are each elected for one four-year term of office. To be eligible for candidacy as a City Council member, a candidate must have all the qualifications of an elector and must be a current resident of the municipality, having lived in Xenia for at least two years immediately prior to the election during which office is sought.

Meeting Information:
Regular sessions of the Xenia City Council are held twice per month on the second and fourth Thursdays at 7 p.m. Special (work) and executive sessions occur irregularly, which may be prior to a regular session, on a Saturday, or any other day convenient to the Council members. The public is invited to attend regular and special (work) sessions. Executive sessions are closed to the public. Those who would like to relay a question, comment or concern to City Council may do so at a regular session during Audience Break or by contacting City Council members through the links on this page. Citizens interested in placing an item on the agenda for discussion should submit their requests to the City Clerk, 101 N. Detroit Street, Xenia, OH 45385. Requests must be received no less than 10 days prior to the meeting date. Click here for agenda information and to access meeting minutes from past meetings. Click here for public hearing information.

Current Council Board and Commission Assignments:

Board for Recreation, Arts, and Cultural Activities: Councilwoman Mills

Board of Zoning Appeals: Mayor Bayless

Economic Development Advisory Board: Councilman Caupp

Greene County Regional Planning Commission: Councilman Long

Dayton Area Mayors and Managers: Mayor Bayless

Miami Valley Regional Planning Commission: Councilman Louderback

Planning and Zoning Commission: Councilman Long

Traffic Commission: Councilman Smith

Meeting Location:
Regular/Special (work) sessions are held in the City Council Chambers, Second Floor, City Hall, 101 N. Detroit Street, Xenia, unless otherwise noted on the published agenda. Executive Sessions are held in the First Floor Conference Room, City Hall, unless otherwise noted on the published agenda. 

Contact Information:
The Mayor and City Council members do not hold regular office hours. Please utilize the e-mail links or telephone numbers provided on this page to contact them. Or, you may contact the City Clerk at (937) 376-7235 or e-mail  

If you would like to request a Mayoral Proclamation, please click here.